Czech Republic


František Soucek, first violin
Petr Strizek, second violin
Petr Holman, viola
Vladimír Fortin, cello

Since its founding in 1994, the Zemlinsky Quartet has become a much lauded example of the Czech string quartet tradition. Most recently, the quartet has won the 1st Grand Prize in the Bordeaux International String Quartet Competition (2010). It also enjoyed a string of top prizes in the Banff International String Quartet Competition (2007), Prague Spring International Music Competition (2005) and London International String Quartet Competition (2006), where it was also awarded the Audience Prize.

Zemlinsky Quartet is named after the Austrian composer, conductor and teacher Alexander Zemlinsky (1871-1942), whose enormous contribution to Czech, German and Jewish culture during his 16-year stay in Prague was underestimated for decades.

They have been the recipient of the Alexander Zemlinsky Advancement Award, marking only the fourth time the prize has been awarded by the board of the Alexander Zemlinsky Foundation that includes Christoph von Dohnányi and James Levine.