Night of the Quartet®, Other concerts in France, Musical creations

For this 4th edition, the Nuit du Quatuor® (Quartet Night) finds itself once again in the mythical Water Lilies exhibit space, committing itself to the Musée de l’Orangerie’s new ambitions for Nuit Blanche.

Once more, the best international ensembles such as the Agate, Piatti, Harold, Elmire, Kuss, Arod, Yako, Mona, Cheng, Maurice, and also Tchalik Quartets will perform master works from today’s and yesterday’s repertoire. 

Passing along the passion of string quartet playing is the spirit of the Nuit du Quatuor. 3 new works composed during the ProQuartet composition workshop at the Paris Conservatory will enrich the repertoire.

We wish you a new and unforgettable Nuit du Quatuor®.


Download the Nuit du Quatuor® brochure

    Saturday 05 October 201919:00


    Agate Quartet
    – 7pm 
    Claude Debussy, String Quartet in G minor, op. 10 (1893)

    Piatti Quartet
    Harold Quartet
    – 8pm
    Felix Mendelssohn, String Quartet n° 6 in F minor, op. 80 (1847) / Megumi Okuda (student in CNSMDP), New Piece (creation, 2019)

    Elmire Quartet
    – 9pm
    Béla Bartók, String Quartet n°2, op. 17 (1917)

    Kuss Quartet
    – 10pm
    Ludwig van Beethoven, Quartet n°16 in F major, op. 135 (1826) / Aribert Reimann, 7 Bagatellen (2017)

    Arod Quartet
    – 11pm
    Alexander Von Zemlinsky, String Quartet in D minor n°2, op. 15 (1917)

    Yako Quartet
    – Midnight
    György Ligeti, Quartet n° 1 « Nocturnal Metamorphosis » (1954) / Tom Bierton (student in CNSMDP), StutterShunt (creation, 2019)

    Mona Quartet
    – 1am 
    Antonín Dvořák, Quartet n° 12  in F major, op. 96 « American » (1893)

    Cheng Quartet
    – 2am
    Filippos Sakagian (student in CNSMDP), 3MÉGISTE (creation, 2019) / Béla Bartók, String Quartet n°3 in C sharp minor (1927) / Une chanson populaire taïwanaise

    Maurice Quartet
    – 3am
    Iannis Xenakis, « Tetras » (1983) / Giacinto Scelsi, String Quartet n°4 (1964)

    Tchalik Quartet
    – 4am
    Jacques Boisgallais, String Quartet (2019, co-commission ProQuartet and Radio France) / Ludwig van Beethoven, Great Fugue in B flat major op.133 (1825)

    Practical Information

    No reservations, places are limited. Tickets will be distributed at the venue (100 places per concert). Unclaimed places will be redistributed 10 minutes before the concert. There will be no museum access.

    in partnership with the Musée de l'Orangerie and the Conservatory of Paris

    As part of Nuit Blanche 2019