Composer (born in 1956 in Bursto Arsizio, Italy)

Pianist, Alessandro Solbiati studied composition with Sandro Gorli at the Milan Conservatory and with Franco Donatoni at Sienna Academy. He wins many prizes in composition competitions such as the Milan International Competition with Quartetto d’archi (1980), or the Roma RAI-Paganini Prize with Di Luce, concerto for violin and orchestra (1982).

As a composition teacher, Alessandro Solbiati teached at the Bologna & Milan Conservatories, at the Acanthes Center and also gived masterclasses Paris and Lyon Conservatoires (CNSMD). His music, played in the greatest International Festivals, is often written for small ensembles (Klimt for string trio and piano, 2007) and single instruments (Ibi, bone fabricator ! for flute, 2009).

Alessandro Solbiati is a poetry lover, his compositions are inspired by Rainer Maria Rilke, Friedrich Hölderlin and Baudelaire (Attraverso, 1990 ; Le réveil de mon âme, 2001). Russian literature also finds an echo in his operas Il carro e i canti (2008) from Pouchkine & Leggenda (2011) from Dostoïevski.

Photos

Compositeur (né en 1956) à Bursto Arsizio (Italie)

Pianiste de formation, Alessandro Solbiati étudie la composition avec Sandro Gorli au Conservatoire de Milan et avec Franco Donatoni à l’Académie de Sienne. Il s’illustre dans les concours de composition, tel le Concours international de Milan avec Quartetto d’archi (1980), ou encore lors du Prix RAI-Paganini de Rome avec Di Luce, concerto pour violon et orchestre (1982).

Professeur de composition, Alessandro Solbiati enseigne successivement aux conservatoires de Bologne, Milan, au Centre Acanthes et dirige également des masterclasses aux conservatoires supérieurs de Paris et Lyon. Sa musique, interprétée dans les plus grands festivals internationaux, est souvent écrite pour des effectifs réduits (Klimt pour trio à cordes et piano, 2007) et des instruments seuls (Ibi, bone fabricator ! pour flûte, 2009).

Amateur de poésie, Alessandro Solbiati compose notamment sur des textes de Rainer Maria Rilke, Friedrich Hölderlin et Baudelaire (Attraverso, 1990 ; Le réveil de mon âme, 2001). De même, la littérature russe trouve un écho dans ses opéras Il carro e i canti (2008) d’après Pouchkine et Leggenda (2011) d’après Dostoïevski.

Photos